SHOE STORIES

What Are Shoe Stories?

I’m interested in shoes.

Sonya Sherman
2 min readAug 24, 2022

--

Photo courtesy of the author (CC BY 4.0)

I’m interested in shoes.

But I’m not a Shoe Queen, with a closet full and overflowing with a thousand different colours and styles of footwear, bursting with bling.

Nor am I a Collector or Investor with inventory, a portfolio and a share-strategy for the shoes of sports stars.

I’m curious about the social and cultural aspects of shoes, and how that impacts their design.

And I’m fascinated by the personal connection a shoe (or any item of clothing) makes us to feel — to an individual we have never met.

They wore this.

… while they went about ordinary, or extraordinary, activities.

A shoe can stand for a person.

It touched their body. They were here.

I think ancient shoes in a museum make history so much more real than any other artefacts.

My imagination is inspired to flights of fantasy when I spot abandoned shoes in unexpected places.

What happened there?

Two stories by Stephen King, The Body (or the film version Stand By Me) and Pet Sematary are connected by a missing sneaker. Those scenes are burned into my memory.

--

--

Sonya Sherman

Information champion, filer and finder of stuff, book lover, story teller.